Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Muscari

I had a day at home today. It was grey and cold outside and I had plenty to do inside.

Most of the jobs were just mundane and included changing a bed, doing a load of washing and some ironing.

There were long phone calls and a number of deliveries to deal with.  

Al and Sue had a Click and Collect at Waitrose and included a few essentials for me: milk, cream (for Mum), carrots, a chicken, (and a few bars of chocolate too........)

Al brought it all and then had the cheek to say I should have washed my car in all my free time!!

Dick had scarified one lawn last night and returned today to do the others and to mow and edge. The garden looks wonderful with all the different daffs and narcissi out.

We tried to watch an online play this afternoon, but it would not stream to my Chromecast. Tonight's National Theatre production of Jane Eyre transmitted with no problem so we watched in on my TV. It was very intense. I think you needed to know the story because there was a lot to squash into the evening. The singer, Melanie Marshall deserves a special mention. What a voice!

I wonder how many of you received or gave jugs of bulbs at Christmas? They were in M & S. We have three. The first was very disappointing and the plants keeled over. This second one is doing very well. I used the lightbox for background illumination for a change from my outdoor, naturalistic images of recent days.

By the way, thank you all for your comments, stars and hearts for Mum three days ago. She says thank you too.

Life in the time of Covid 19
Nothing much to report today, but our walking holiday at the beginning of June has been cancelled. We hope to go next year. Who knows?

I was out in the street at 8pm for the applause to support the front line workers. It's very moving, even at our sparsely populated end of the village.

The number of cases are still rising but not as quickly as they might have.

Supermarket assistants sometimes make "interesting" choices when packing my goods. Today the three courgettes are each a mini marrow!! I will need to be creative with my cooking. I'm just glad I did not have to go and take any risks.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.