Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Spring is so wonderful this year

We have been blessed with extremely good Spring weather. Although it has been dry now for a couple of weeks, the farmers are not worried about the crops. The land was completely waterlogged after the winter, so the warm, dry weather now is a delight for us all (especially the new lambs).

I think my house cleaning skills are improving, but I'm still rather slow.....

After lunch, I did a short walk, going from home to the River North Tyne and taking the riverside path. I was on it yesterday and delighted by the carpets of wood anemones.

Today, I explored a small path off the main path and suddenly found myself in a little glade with a steam running through and a clump of marsh marigolds in the centre. These are the first I have seen this year.

Although I photographed them, I chose the wood anemones for my blip. They looked so romantic. The river beyond was blue, which is unusual for the river North Tyne, but the dappled light was dancing as the flowers danced.

Life in the time of Covid 19
Has anyone else noticed how heightened the senses are at the moment? I always love Spring, but it seems very 'special this year. I expect it is because we all have a niggling thought that we might not see another one.

It brought to mind that wonderful interview with Dennis Potter when he was dying. He was looking at plum blossom in his garden and he said, .... instead of saying, 'Oh, that's nice blossom, looking at it through the window when I'm writing, it is the whitest, frothiest, blossomiest blossom that there ever could be.


I have always thought that was a wonderful way to express the very nowness of the experience.

Last night I stayed awake (just) until after midnight and managed to book an online shop for 28th April. Phew! I don't want to ask people to go and queue for my food and I'm very grateful that there is a delivery service.

Dick, our gardener, has appeared this evening. What a welcome sight. We have kept our distance carefully. The cats are hiding in the fields nearby and won't come home until he has been long gone tonight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.