Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Verdict on the haircut

Yesterday I cut Mum's hair and set it. She tells me that she was not at all nervous, so that left one of us! It seems to have been a success, which is great. It might last another 6 weeks before I have to wield the scissors again, by which time I will be ready to do a restyle!! (Only joking.)

This morning I blitzed the conservatory and did 3 loads of washing. 

After lunch, I set out on another road walk, this time in the direction of Barrasford. There is a good stretch of path by the River North Tyne and only one couple walking there to chat to. I went to a wood I thought I did not know, but the little hints of déja vu crept in as I walked through it.

There were carpets of celandine and wood anemones. The garlic is in bud, but no flowers to see yet. I saw dead nettles, Jack by the hedge and carpets of dog's mercury. In many ways, that is an insignificant plant but it produces lovely green under the trees.

My trousers and boots were muddy. Yesterday I cleaned the utility and today I stepped in with muddy boots. Not pleased with myself!!

Life in the time of Covid 19
Our Prime Minister is in Intensive Care but not requiring mechanical ventilation. He must be ill to be there. Assuming he recovers, he will need proper recuperation time. No one seems to be thinking about that. It's scary to see how anxious the government ministers look.

I had to phone our GP today to discuss plans for Mum's care if she catches the virus. She and I agree that she will be best staying at home. Very sadly, our dear friend, L, phoned today to say that her father had died. He was in hospital awaiting a care package to go home when he caught the virus. He was alone and very distressed. How sad for the whole family.

My attempts at online ordering are futile. I have registered Mum as vulnerable - well I've tried, but they don't tell you if you are successful. The supermarkets are supposed to know to give us priority. They don't.

I'll stop ranting about it. We are well fed and comfortable. We just need to hang on to the lock down for as long as it takes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.