SALTWELL TOWERS in Saltwell Park

Neil went back to work yesterday after a period on furlough.  His shift finished at 3pm today so he asked if I wanted to go on a walk with him to Satwell Park.  Of course I did.  I went out for a bus which would have got me there in time to meet Neil as he finished work.  However it was late.  When it arrived there was another bus right behind it.  Neither had any passengers..  So annoying as I was around 25 mins late meeting Neil.

We walked along Satwell Road to the park.  Its a huge park - opened in 1876.  It has a lovely lake, various gardens, a bandstand, bowling green, some peacocks,a children playgrounds and Saltwell Towers which you can see in my blip.

Saltwell Towers is a large mansion in red brick with Gothic turrets and mock battlements..  It was built in 1871 as a residence for William Wailes - one of the leading exponents of stained glass in England. The building is now a visitor centre and cafe - but its closed at the moment.

I have added a couple of collages showing the original Salte Welle dated 1872, the lake, one of the swan peddle boats,one of the ponds, Neil and me.

MUsical link -TOWER SONG by Townes Van Zandt

After our wander around the park Neil set off to walk home and I got the bus to Gateshead which isn't far away.  Did some food shopping in the big Tesco.

Back home to catch up watching Line Of Duty.  As usual I found it rather hard to follow and there are more questions than answers - but its so exciting.  Looking forward to episode 5.

Steps today - 11,150

CORONA CLASSIC - 'Nancy' - Traditional Folk Music from Northumberland -

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.