The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Singing Creek, where life is sweet

That's the promise of jigsaws! Of course in reality the Singing Creek post office might have been held up by armed robbers last week and I'm sure they have their fair share of domestic violence, addictions, and virulent gossip. At least these cardboard folk will never know the horrors of CoVid-19, frozen in time as they are.

I once visited a Mennonite village, either in Upstate New York or Ontario, CA. People drove waggons somewhat like these and dressed in bonnets and dark floor-length attire. As a child I loved reading the Little house...series by Laura Ingalls Wilder, the the tales of a pioneer family.  Never was a fan of the TV series, though!

The sun shone on the garden today, and we had an actual visitor! Steve's sister cane up from Wilts. We hadn't seen her since 2019. I made a fritata, and tapenade, and we assembled a stupendous picnic. It was warm enough to sit out, I'm happy to report. at one point, I was even tempted to remove a jumper.

Later, I finished this jigsaw in the cabin. Then came a round of discussions. My uncle A has actually succeeded in talking to the Social Work dept in Fort William about our mother. We have to discuss next steps for her. It's deeply concerning, because I'm so far away. I'm not allowed to visit Scotland until Friday, the day when my market resumes, and my nursery resumes the following Monday. Timing!

I went off and did another jigsaw, a very easy one, to take my mind off worrying, and watched some trash TV. One way or another, the pandemic will get to us all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.