A time for everything

By turnx3

Birds of Florida

Tuesday
This morning we got a fairly early start, and headed first to the wildlife drive at Merritt Island wildlife refuge. There was bird life and alligators a plenty, so today I decided to focus on some of the bird life, left to right on the top row, black-necked stilt, snowy egret, and green heron. In one stretch, along one of the drainage canals, there were great numbers of snowy egrets predominantly, though with a number of ibis mixed in - they lined the edge of the canal and were perched on the trees a terrific sight! On the bottom row is the snowy egret again, then the remaining two, royal tern and ibis were taken at the National seashore in the afternoon. We spent several hours on the beach, sitting reading, walking, and I even joined Roger in the water! I wasn’t sure I would be venturing in the water till we cross over to the Gulf coast at the weekend, but it wasn’t as cold as I was expecting, so I was tempted to go in. I didn’t stay in long however, as the waves, whilst not particularly big, were still quite powerful.
Step count: 12,518

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.