GREY'S MONUMENT - Newcastle

I went to Newcastle today.  Main reason was to start the search for an outfit of some sort to wear at Neils wedding.  I knew this would be difficult.  I never wear skirts,  I haven't worn a dress since my own wedding in 1982.  I much prefer casual outfits.  But a wedding outfit must be found so I made a start.  As I feared it is going to prove difficult.

So many problems - some of which I hadn't anticipated.  Main problem - the actual dresses on offer.  If I had the figure of a supermodel and was around 6 feet tall I would be fine - an abundance of choice.  But Im only 5 foot and need a larger size - most dresses I saw would have gone down to my ankles - and beyond.  Hardly anything in my size anyway and no sign of any petite ranges.  In one shop I did manage to gather together 5 dresses that I wanted to try on - just in case they looked vagually OK.  BUT - no changing rooms were open. Apparently not enough staff to man them.  Well if I was buying a cheap T Shirt I would probably have taken it home to try on and if it didn't fit take it back.  But these dresses cost £70, £80 and more each so I wasn't about to spend hundreds of pounds on the offchance any of them would fit and then have to get a refund when they didn't. I was almost sure they would all be no good and a quick try on in a changing room to confirm it was all I wanted.  So I had to put those things back on the rails and move to another shop.  This one had open changing rooms but I didn't find anything I wanted to try on.  Another shop --- no changing rooms. A couple of other shops - nothing suitable.  So I gave up and went  to Waitrose - bought some fruit ... and came home.  So a very unsuccessful first day of my search.  Good job the wedding isn't till August.

My blip shot shows Greys Monument. Its  monument of Early Grey built in 1838 and stands 135 feet high. As you can see the base of the monument is a popular meeting place.

Newcastle was very busy. At times it was like the Saturday before Christmas - people everywhere..  I was surprised as I had thought things might have been a bit more quiet as the non essential shops have been open since Monday.

The weather today was lovely - bright and warm with a beautiful blue sky.

Musical link -BLUE SKIES by Willie Nelson

Steps today - 12,077

Tonight I watched a programme called - 'Exotic Pop at the BBC" and Ive chosen something from that show as my classic today .  I remember when I was little Winifred Atwell used to be on TV a lot.

CORONA CLASSIC - The Poor People of Paris by Winifred Atwell

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.