Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

One man in his canoe

This morning was taken up with domestic duties. I suddenly realised I was going to find it hard to fit in a walk.

I took the car to the bridge at Chollerford and then went on foot along the side of the river North Tyne. As I approached I saw this canoe floating along and was reminded of three men in a boat. 

Soon I met Mary Anne, a famous artist who lives at West Woodburn. We have known her for years. She is a wild swimmer and had just come out of the river. Her husband, Scotty, was on hand with the canoe and all the picnic food.

Further along I met two more wild swimmers.

My extra is from the extreme of the walk where the marsh marigolds (King cups) have started to flower by a small stream, (see extra). I suddenly realised I was out of time and had to walk quickly back to the car.

Mum and I watched the funeral of Prince Philip. I should have been in a Zoom meeting about woodland photography. I had it on silently and occasionally glanced to see lovely images on my laptop.

We thought the service was dignified and fairly simple - the minimum of fuss for someone who did not like fuss.

Julie and I did FaceTime tonight and caught up with what is happening in our lives.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.