At last

Three decades of moaning about the lack of German-born founder of Hellmann's Mayonnaise has finally resulted in the stuff appearing on ordinary German supermarket shelves.

I think it was December 2018 when I last got into discussion with Anglo-Dutch Unilever sales force, and they responded that they would be introducing the product onto the German market in 2019. I first spotted the tiny 210ml jars in a supermarket on 13th June 2019, but that was more or less it except for the very occasional sighting of a 250ml tube.

However, with it now being in a low-cost supermarket chain like Norma, looks like real progress. The 27% discounted price is actually not bad when compared to UK's Tesco price where it cost today £1.00 for 250ml or about €1.15.

What I am not sure about is whether the squeezy stuff is the same as the jar product which I have in my memory as being rather fluffy/spongy/wobbly and not exactly the best consistency for squeezing.

Regardless, I didn't buy any. It will take me a long time to get over being ignored for 30 years!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.