Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

White

After four months of sticking to my own parish I made a modest excursion a few miles up the Wharfedale Line for a walk to Ben Rhydding Gravel Pits and Sun Lane nature reserves. 

Ben Rhydding was great for birds, particularly the bench at the far end that looks over the River Wharfe, There were a dozen or so Sand Martin popping in and out of their burrows, and in the fifteen minutes that I sat there a Kingfisher and a couple of Redshank flew down river, Mandarin, Greylag and Goosander swam back and forth, Curlew and Buzzard flew overhead and all the while Chiff-chaff were blasting away from the trees.

For butterflies, it was quiet - it was a little overcast - but I did see my first Small White of the year, pictured. 

I walked down the road to Sun Lane, where there wasn’t really a lot on show yet but I saw Red Kite and Oystercatcher to add to the day’s bird list. 

Burley in Wharfedale seemed quite busy with people enjoying alfresco cafes and hostelries. So of course I sat in the park with my flask and sandwiches. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.