Pandemic garden makeover complete

Just over a year ago on 12th April 2020 I reported that my nephew Paddy had agreed to help me with my back garden. At the time, I thought that all that was needed was a wee tidy up. Paddy had other ideas.

Over the course of the past year Paddy has masterminded a complete garden makeover for us. His girlfriend Caitlin, Mr hazelh, and I have helped realise his design. Apart from a couple of wee snagging issues, and after a huge final effort today, I am pleased to report that the project is now complete. We are all delighted with the end result - especially the head gardener and his assistant, as blipped. All we need now is for the lawn to grow.

While the others built the rockery, created the compost box, fixed the gutter to the shed, and sowed the lawn today, I was mainly focused on catering. I made a batch of scones, a couple of banana loaves (one for Paddy to take home to toast for breakfast next week), two blackberry crumbles, and a cod, pesto and green vegetable bake for supper. I served tea and coffee throughout the day, provided root vegetable soup and tuna mayonnaise sandwiches for lunch, and hosted the wee tea party that came about when Katharine and Jack called in mid-afternoon. I also popped down to Leith with Caitlin to borrow Katharine's roller.

With the garden work finished just after 7pm, we spent the rest of the evening on the patio playing a new (to us) game called Azul, working our way through celebratory drinks and supper, and watching the bats fly above us as night fell. It's been a great day.

Exercise today: nothing structured, but I have been on my feet most of the day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.