The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

New nursery term, new courses

Back at nursery: INSET day. Death by screen, as we had to have our training online in our bubbles and not much time for group discussion. I went to Tesco's and the park at lunchtime but forgot to take my phone. No sunny pictures...

When I got home eventually, I checked my phone and found that my new course started earlier than I'd thought, at 5.30 pm. I had enough time to fire up my laptop, and that was it for the next two hours.

The subject is Fictions of Empire, and for tonight we had to read the first half of King Solomon's Mines. What a cracking yarn it is! I may have mentioned this before. Good to meet my classmates online, though I know at least one in person. We had some interesting discussions. Afterwards, I fell down a rabbit hole looking for films about Latin America set in the 1920s or 30s and ended up watching La Baronesa de Galapagos on YouTube, which is actually a documentary about the possible murder of a German self-styled baroness in the 1930s. Not suitable for the course, but ties in with my new podcast discovery, Shedunnit. I have listened to three episodes of that already. Recommended for fans of 1920s/30s crime fiction.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.