Day Moon

Since weekend my energy levels have dropped like a stone again. I put it down to fluctuating thyroid hormones and now it feels like it is starting to right itself - fingers crossed!

I went over to see my Dad today. He is in good spirits, having had a visit from my cousin a few days ago and a haircut by Estelle next door this morning. He got me to book for him to go and see my mum next week, on his birthday. There was not a great deal to do over there today as Estelle had done quite a few jobs already. 

Once home I finished watching "Too Close", which I really enjoyed, especially as Minstrel joined me, sleeping on my lap again. 

Later I visited the park again to find a Blip. It was really overcast earlier but by late afternoon had brightened up beautifully. The moon has been visible in the sky by day most of the week which I really like to see, so today I decided to go with that as my Blip - I liked how it looked with the clouds.

I made a vegetarian curry for tea (Vegan version for Grace!) One thing I don't get with recipes: They say, for example, it will take 10 minutes to prep, 25 to cook. Fair enough. Then you read the ingredients and it says e.g sweet potato, chopped; halloumi cheese, diced etc., etc. This chopping, dicing, juicing etc. is not included in the prep time, but what are these tasks if not prep? Maybe the recipe writers have underlings and sous chefs to do all the pre-prep work! Or they know their recipes are going to be more popular if people aren't put off by the thought of spending the best part of an hour slaving before they can even begin cooking.

I don't mind when I have time to spare and can stand and do these jobs in an almost meditative way, but it is a pain when I'm short of time! And all these 20 minute meals are really only possible if you own every chopping, blending, mixing etc. gadget going!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.