Snake's head fritillary

It's just over a year since I discovered several clumps of snake's head fritillaries in the grounds of the Modern Art Gallery (I). Since I wanted to show them to Mr hazelh, a plant-hunt determined the route for our morning walk today. The walk was all the more enjoyable because Jon joined us. Jon also came back to our flat afterwards for morning coffee/tea and brownies/croissant on our sunny patio. It was such a treat to have his company for most of the morning.

News came just before midday of new bedding plants in LIDL, so we rushed round there after lunch to buy new stocks for the yarden.

Mr hazelh and I have also both been busy on creative projects today. First he sanded down the wood of our garden furniture so that I can treat it, then he finished the construction of the bird table (to be painted the same colour as the block garden breeze blocks). Meanwhile I sewed the rods back into the newly-dyed canvas fabric of the director's chairs than Liz and Tony gave me on Monday. Then I added the new plants to our yarden. Our new bread maker arrived when we were both busy at the front of the house.

The lovely weather tempted Paddy and Caitlin out for a bike ride in our direction after they finished work. They came primarily to collect a bag that Paddy left here after boys' beer group last night. Their arrival was perfectly  timed: just as I was brewing tomato soup and making a borlotti and kale pasta dish for our supper. It didn't take much to persuade them to stay to eat with us in the yarden and play a game of Catan (which Paddy won).

Exercise today: walking (17,907 steps), plus yardening.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.