Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Walk to Chilcomb

Today I finally achieved the walk I had meant to do last month and failed.  From the Morn Hill butterfly reserve I walked down into the valley and up the other side to Chilcomb, then back along the South Downs Way to Winchester.  The weather was glorious.

This little church has been sitting on its hillside, essentially unchanged for a thousand years, so you may think it pretty cheeky to enter it for a MonoMonday challenge with the subject 'Now'.  But I am because now, today, is the first time I've managed to get here since I sold my car in - er - 2014?  And now the church door is once again open post-lockdown so you can go in and look at the work of Saxon craftsmen who helped decorate it.

As for the walk I'd designed in my head, it was a good one but I got things a bit wrong, not knowing where exactly to get out of the reserve.  This meant I walked along a short stretch of the A272 which was utterly vile.  The wind tugs at you and the noise is unbelievable.  It's scary.  Which makes you realise what a hell on earth we've created for wildlife (see Extras). 

Oh how I hate the way we get around.  Don't get me wrong I drove for years and years so I'm as much of a sinner as anyone.  And if Sis said 'borrow my car tomorrow and drive to the Farne Island to photograph puffins' I'd be off like a shot.  But...

Hey ho!

Many thanks to Random_Angel for hosting today.  And happy evening, all  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.