pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Just like the river

I ran 14k for the first time the other day and really enjoyed it.

Having had a lie in this morning and finished catching up with the blips of others, I had no plans for the remainder of the day – aside from getting together with visiting parents at some point.

With the sun continuing to shine, a run beckoned. Dispensing with my primary layer and going only with a t-shirt, I instantly regretted it when I set off as it was still a cool day. If anyone was in any doubt that it was a cool day, they would have been alerted to the fact by the uncomfortable sight of my nipples practically cutting through my t-shirt. Pushing the thought of the dreaded nipple chafing to the back of my mind, I pressed on, keen to see if I could do it again. Turns out I could and I knocked three minutes off the previous time!

A high point of the run was getting to the South end of the river just as Sam Cooke leaned into the immortal lines:-

“I was born by the river, in a little tent
Oh, and just like the river
I’ve been running ever since”

Prior to dinner with the ‘rents, the remainder of the day was spent simply soaking up some rays in the back yard and reading a book. In peace.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.