100 ABSTRACTS - NUMBER 17

For part of today’s abstract I have used a shot I took late last night - OK, I hold up my hands and say it was taken yesterday - but the background of this double exposure shot was taken this morning when I opened our bedroom curtains and saw the beautiful sky. 

When I went up to bed last night, the so-called “pink” moon or "Supermoon" was extremely bright with no cloud so I opened our bedroom window and took the shot I have put in as an extra. It was taken with my Canon SX50, hand-held and thankfully, I have very steady hands! 

As you can see, it was very cloudy this morning with just patches of blue sky showing through, and I was intending to use just that as my abstract but then decided to superimpose the moon to “abstracise” it a bit more. 

This is an interesting short video made by National Geographic from which I learned a lot about the moon. 

I did some fartnarkling with the shot in the Snapseed app and here is my offering for number 17 of my 100 Abstracts Challenge, which I’m doing  to raise awareness of the Mamie Martin Fund, which provides secondary education for young women and girls in Malawi. 

Thank you for all your kind comments yesterday – I’m feeling much better now, in fact while Mr HCB is out walking with his friend, Barry, I intend giving the conservatory a spring clean.  I just need to make sure that I put all Mr HCB’s seeds in a safe place so that he knows where to find them!  

I also need to dispose of the various vases of dead tulips that are adorning the windowsills in the conservatory.  I doubt it will stay perfectly clear for long, although I have to say that the kitchen worktops are still looking good after my declutter earlier in the month.

“Don't worry if you're making waves 
     just by being yourself;  
          the Moon does it all the time.”
Scott Stabile

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.