Grasshopper Warbler - 45

Thank you very much for all the likes and favourites for yesterday's jackdaw annoying the deer. I really appreciate the comments and I'm glad you all liked it.

Today's bird was a first for me and I was amazed to see one let alone get a photo. I had seen mention of a grasshopper warbler last night and out of curiosity I played the sound to see if it really did sound like a grasshopper. It did. When I was wandering around Frodsham Marshes today I heard the distinctive sound and managed to (eventually) spot it. The song was continuous and there weren't many bushes so it was possible to pretty much pinpoint where the sound was coming from but it still took me some time before I spotted it in the greenery.

Shortly afterwards I spotted another not so common bird, a yellow wagtail, but the grasshopper warbler takes priority and I have included the wagtail as an extra. 
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Lands End to John O'Groats 1000 Mile Virtual Challenge Update

Day 78 -  Gloucestershire. 4.4 miles walked. 311.9 miles completed


Todays walk passed through Kemble and close to the source of the Thames. A few years ago we walked the Thames Path and so I passed a familiar point where the long distance path crossed the road. Walking along the A429 I finished to the south west of Cirencester. I mentioned yesterday that I finished next to Cotswold Airport and I was looking at street view and was amazed by the number of British Airways planes alongside the road. It is worth looking at.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.