Wound up in Wexford

By Neatwithice

Iris pumila Knick Knack

A rather pretty, if slightly blowsy, little iris - one of its common names is dwarf bearded iris.  It was another "side of the road" purchase from the stand on the roundabout* last year - I don't think it flowered last year, but this year we've had three flowers.  I've waited and waited to photograph them after they had fully opened, but two of the flowers have died now without really showing off the centre, so I thought I'd better get this one before it too dies back.

The weather seems to be slowly picking up - for a while today it was positively warm - though when the sun went in later in the day, it once again turned distinctly chilly.  We were promised rain - but that never materialised.

*I noticed the other day when I drove past that they have a stall out again - I may have to stop there sometime soon!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.