The Passmore Edwards Centre.

I went into Newton Abbot this morning to pick up my new glasses. I've been looking forward to getting them for a couple of weeks. I've recently come to the conclusion that the photochromic lenses that I've been ordering for many years are the devil's work, invented to confuse and confound the poor person who actually bought his spectacles to help him see better. It's taken me a while to realise that they're a hindrance in most circumstances so I'm pleased to have some nice clear lenses. My old glasses will be reglazed with a graduated tint on the lens.


Whilst in town I looked around for a blip. It's Wide Wednesday (hosted by BobsBlips) and the theme for this week is 'Architectural'. My Blip is of the Library building designed by Silvanus Trevail in the Renaissance Revival style and opened in 1904. 

John Passmore Edwards was from Cornwall and he was a journalist and philanthropist who set up a foundation that created libraries in London, Devon and Cornwall. He sounds like a top bloke.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.