Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Hazy

(29/4/21)

If you get the feeling that the image above was taken decades ago (like in the 1970s) because of the "low" quality, I can assure you it's not. This is exactly what the day was like - bleah, yuck. It got much worse in the afternoon when we had a raging sandstorm with visibility down to a kilometre. You could barely see the skyline - just the outlines of some of the taller skyscrapers. It's why I often can't post an outdoor picture. *Sigh*

Diane and I went to visit ex-colleagues friends in our old place of work today. The folk there have seen me fairly recently but not Diane. She got a fantastic welcome and was able to catch up with Janet (my extra) in the company's "Marhaba Lounge". I took this shot from the Northside window just as an update of how much the scenery has changed. That tall building in the centre of the image is completely hindering the view of The Frame (which I live close to). :))

I was in the office for a short training session with Shelina on how to use Panopto. It is an interesting app which I am going to try for myself in a few days. The company are starting to deliver more online courses for which trainers record videos. I will be ensuring that the auto-generated subtitles are accurate.

We went on to Dubai Mall from there. Diane needed to visit a couple of stores and now that the temperatures are getting into the high 30s, a mall walk is a good alternative. G met up with us once she'd finished with school and we had a nice, healthy lunch in the M&S Cafe.

Back home and G was out again - to another Iftar, this time with the Chess club group. I should have gone to the SA meeting but ended up staying home and doing some work on my YouTube channel, which is finally gaining some traction. I had to race out briefly to bring G home. 
It's Thursday tomorrow already. I can't believe how fast the weeks are flying!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.