Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Camouflaged

Whoa...can't believe I forgot to post this blip on Tuesday.
This is a Desert Spiny lizard.  Usually they're very large and at first glance I mistake them for a Gila monster.  It must be the size because they look completely different from each other.  This one was half the length of what I usually see so it must be a juvenile.  It also didn't quite have a bright, distinctive streak of purple on its back; more of a dark streak.  I like these a lot more than those tiny squiggly lizards that are nearly impossible to photograph.  Plus, they're usually a boring brown or grey.  This kind, especially when they are mature, are so colorful.  Because the teal is so prominent, I also think it's male.  Way cool in large.

Can't remember much about Tuesday other than it was my usual busy one. The housecleaners were here and while they were I went out for breakfast and a short neighborhood walk; hence, the lizard.  Then it was therapy. An hour later, I joined in on the camera club Black and White special interest group. The leader is going to switch to every other week for the next 5-6 months because at the moment there are only five participants.  It's the summer snowbird effect.  

I hadn't gotten much sleep the night before and despite not being a napper, dozed off for a while after the meeting.  Woke up in time for dinner and was in bed before 8:00.  I slept for 11 hours.  Come to think of it, all of that likely explains not having posted the blip on time.

Now I'm headed out.  Not sure where the day will bring me.  As of this writing (Thursday morning) I have four consecutive days without any commitments, other than picking up birdseed in Tubac on Saturday. You might expect a silly blip from there that day.  It's the perfect time of year to be out and about.

I'll be posting next Monday's theme later today and am hosting Silly Saturday. Thanks to David for reminding me!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.