Cherry Blossom

The big day had arrived.  A day off work, a trip into Edinburgh and my first haircut since September.  It was a miserable day (weatherwise) – not quite what I had had in mind for my day off.  Wet, dark and cold.  Just horrible.  I braved the bus into Edinburgh, which was fine.  I walked through Princes Street gardens to the West End then got a bus to my hairdressers.  I was wearing boots which I clearly haven’t worn in the rain for a  very long time, as I had wet feet.  They are my comfiest boots, but they are now only for dry days.  Edinburgh felt a little sad – with shops closed down, empty buildings and lots of to let signs on empty shops.  One of these is Jenners – which is really sad.
My hairdresser gave me one last chance to keep some of my hair and go for a new style, before it fell to the floor.  It feels rather strange having really short hair again after so many months (I haven't had a haircut since last September), but I’m sure I’ll get used to it quite quickly.  I had plans to go for a walk along the Water of Leith after my haircut, but with my cold wet feet and the miserable weather I abandoned that plan.  The one thing I wanted to do while in town was to get a new jacket for BB.  We moved into teh next stage of easing yesterday, with shops, cafes and pubs re-opening.  I went to one of my most disliked shops and found what I was after, made my purchase and made a hasty retreat.  The bookshop was almost next door, so I wandered in.  it was so nice to browse in an actual book shop.  It wasn’t very busy and the display tables felt well-spaced.  Of course I made a purchase.  I walked past a few pubs and cafes with some very hardy people sitting outside drinking.  How keen or maybe just mad they must have been as it was wet and freezing!  Next stop was M&S for a few things from the food hall, then the bus home (which was absolutely freezing with all the windows open) to dry off and warm up.  Later I went out for a wee walk to check this out.  The pagoda is in place and will provide me with another blip opportunity.
Tea was courtesy of M&S, and then a quiet evening on the sofa.
This cherry tree provided a nice splash of colour on such a dreich day.  There was also a white blossom tree in the gardens (extra).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.