Boathouse

This morning I was woken early by a hailstorm thundering down on the roof.  By the time I went out for my pre-work walk, it seemed like quite a nice day.  I spent the rest of the day at my laptop pretty much on back to back meetings.  TT pushed some lunch in front of me at one point and I did manage to escape for half an hour to get some fresh air, only to come back to a load of emails from colleagues looking for stuff.  It’s tricky to get on with the work when you are in back to back meetings.  My last meeting of the day was with a  lovely former colleague who has moved over to our organisation on a secondment.  We talked work, but also made time to catch up on life.   I then had an intense hour of churning stuff out before logging off earlier than normal as BB was playing football in Edinburgh and I decided to join them so I could go for a walk while he was playing.  TT decided to join me rather than watching the game –  I’m not sure if we are allowed to watch now or not.
 
We walked along the canal to the canal basin, then walked back out to Slateford Aqueduct and back to the football.  It was a really lovely evening.  The canal path was fairly busy with walkers and runners, but most seemed to respect social distancing.  We did not appreciate the organised group of about twenty runners who thundered past us – with absolutely no sign of social distancing. Is that even allowed?
 
BB’s team won again – which is great and has set them up for the league starting again at the weekend.  It was then home for a very late tea and not much later bed. 
 
This is an old boat house on the canal.  The first extra is another canal view, the second extra is a duck family.  A crow had its eye on the ducklings and the mother duck was doing a valiant job of fending him off, but I don’t think there would have been seven ducklings for much longer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.