The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

On the riverbank

I went into town in the morning to run some errands and to meet a friend. The streets felt very crowded and there was no sign of my friend AK, so I phoned and suggested we meet at a less busy cafe with seating, on the edge of town. On the way there I was hijacked by the sight of the Red Band playing on the steps of the Subscription rooms, and remembered that it was May Day. I watched them for a moment and proceeded, before we lost our table.

Afterwards, I intended to walk back along the canal, but realised I needed to buy a pair of sunglasses, so walked back through town, and bumped into another friend. Got home in time to make a sandwich before getting ready for my next walk. KC and I walked down to the canal at Bowbridge and along to the new home of the second hand bookshop, near the Ship Inn at Brimscombe. Today was the grand opening day, and there were free cups of tea, coffee and even Pimm's. We had to queue to get in, but the place turned out to be a TARDIS, much bigger inside than out. I have been listening to a podcast called Shedunnit, and was able to get several vintage crime novels by Dorothy L Sayers, Agatha Christie and Ngaio Marsh for just three pounds for the lot. They also have plenty of jigsaws, though I managed to donate a couple and resist buying any.

We continued past the port, which I blipped on Thursday 22nd, the last time I did this walk, and ended up at the Felt Cafe, which was also last week's destination. There we had a cuppa, and bumped into three more sets of people we knew. Popular place! KC spotted a great railway view from the toilets(!) but I missed it, and just enjoyed sitting by the river Frome.

By the time we'd walked back, I'd clocked up nearly 20,000 steps so I went for a quick walk in the cemetery and finished up with over 21,000. That's a personal best. I think I installed the app just after Easter this year. Cooked supper for myself (Steve had a Waitrose curry) and since then we've been watching Unforgotten, series 4. Three episodes down and three to go...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.