CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

A surprise visit from a Green Man on May Day

I had a good day at the market with some interesting conversations about photography. A young girl wanted her parents to buy a set of cards from me, mostly of wildlife, which they did. Her father said she loved photography and he was obviously very encouraging. She has a Sony camera and that lead me to chatting with her about using it. What a delightful encounter and she gave me a wave as she walked away.

Another person told me about a place to see a tawny owl in its nest on Doverow Hill, which was a bonus, as the tawny I used to see has abandoned its nest, so that pleased me .

After lunch I was rather surprised when this Green Man appeared. I quickly recognised that it was Paul, who was a fellow town councillor with me some years ago. Inevitably he was in the Green Party. We had a chat and I gave him a card showing some Stroud Wassaillers from the annual meeting several years ago. The town becomes the venue for many ‘sides’  to celebrate the Wassail festival, playing music, dancing and performing all around the town centre. This is a scene from last year's Wassail.

I asked if I could record the moment for blipping purposes and he kindly agreed. The cross just happened to be there as the market was in the church hall.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.