carliewired

By carliewired

Riverside Park in May

Colour and light have 
slowly changed as spring has crept
 into Riverside

~ carliewired

I was late getting up and late getting out. 

It's warm enough this afternoon (21C) with a chance of showers. 

I parked by the tennis courts at the west end of the park. There seemed to be a lot of chaotic energy there today. There were some individuals sorting out their suitcases and the contents of some grocery carts right beside the parking lot. I wondered if city employees were moving these people on. There were a number of people busy in the community garden beside the parking lot. They were doing all the hard work one expects before planting. As I walked along the bike path to the Overlander Bridge, some people were clustered around a park bench and I was almost overcome by what they were smoking. I'm sure that's not legal! 

From the bike path I watched the ducks swirl with the eddies in the river. They rode along spinning and turning. The Canada geese, on the other hand, were strolling very sedately through the park. A pair posed for me by the Celtic Stones. 

When I finished taking photos from the bike path I walked along the path to the pier. I tried to find a time and place to deposit my quilted heart. I selected a portion of the gaugewire fence when no one was looking. 

As I walked back to the parking lot I discovered a lovely clutch of grape hyacinth at the base of a tree. Above it, in paint, was another kind of heart. I'm sure that's not legal either! 

My last stop before home was to collect a box of iris a friend had just removed from her garden. She knows that I will give them a good home. My daughter can help me dig them in tomorrow. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.