North Side, South Side

This could be the one
bright morning of the week, but
I almost missed it! 

~ carliewired

I was peeking out the windows at 5:30 and decided to go back to bed. It was cloudy and rather grim behind my mountains. I thought more sleep would be preferable. At 6:15 there was glorious sunshine pouring into my house. I scurried out with my camera to make the most of it all.

I drove into McArthur Island Park's north side and parked near the Butterfly Garden. It was calm and a sunny 10 C. I was hopeful that I could catch some geese and goslings but there were none today. I caught the sun over my mountains and reflected in the slough. Someone had tossed a grocery cart into the slough below the foot bridge. The water in the slough remains scant and low. It will take some time for the river to fill it again when the weather warms up. I followed a beautiful pair of mallards around the walkway. The drake was keeping a sharp eye on his lady. I caught one wood duck in the slough with many mallards. I noticed the Oregon grape was in bloom along the edge of the slough. I left my quilted heart on a bench near the foot bridge, then drove on to the southside.

The marmots were out everywhere along the river's edge. I watched someone feeding them from a bag while seated on a bench. I cruised along the drive taking photos of them from my driver's seat. How lazy is that! 

I was back home by 8 AM. I would like to return to Armstrong today for fresh asparagus. The crop has been late this year due to cold temperatures. My daughter and I could make a day of it. 

Our sunny morning will fade to clouds later today. We might expect a high of 23 C. We're being advised about sunscreen this morning on the radio.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.