In the Grey

I could not wait long
enough for the sun to show
up through the thick cloud

~ carliewired

I was sipping my coffee at 6:30 and trying to decide how soon the layer of cloud might burn off in our valleys. I left the house at 9 when my patience had run out. It was grey and 12 C.

My chosen location was Vantage Point where I planned to walk a bit of the Rivers Trail. I noticed that the river is rising slowly. There's still lots of sand there to entice the dog walkers. There were many of them out there this morning. Some are even in shorts, but I consider that is rushing the season. I followed the meandering path nearest the river. I wondered how it got to be like this. One little chipmunk came out of the trees and onto the riprap. He paused only long enough for me to get this one shot. I discovered that my camera focused on the grass rather than the chipmunk. I've been foiled! I found some very bright yellow weeds blooming along the trail. They were trying to outshine the dandelions. I got the long shot of my mountains beyond the river. I left my quilted heart on a fencepost near the benches. 

I was home by 10:30 with few groceries. I'm in for the day now enjoying the sun coming in my windows. My daughter is here to help with some jobs we'll work on this afternoon. 

We're in for a mainly cloudy day with a high of 20 C and a chance of showers in the afternoon. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.