pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Nomadic

With the children back with their mothers, the remainder of my Bank Holiday was spent tidying up the bombsite they had left behind.

When that was done, I snuggled down to watch Frances McDormand in Nomadland (it’s on Disney+) and was absolutely blown away by the calm majesty of it. McDormand is ALWAYS watchable, but when you sprinkle in a bit of David Strathairn too, you’re going to get gold. Sprinkled in amongst the stars are regular people playing themselves and it really works, lending the film the elixir of authenticity. I won’t say too much, but it basically revolves around a woman learning to live in a van. I know, sounds thrilling doesn’t it?! Whilst not a thriller, it is certainly compelling and the soundtrack was just a little slice of heaven.

Definitely need more Ludovico Einaudi in my life....

Today’s work has been busy, but uneventful and drama-free, which is always welcome. This evening, I watched another great film called Moxie, which has been added to The Eldest’s list of stuff to watch.

Having not been out today, I took a stroll along the river at dusk with this playing in my ears. Sometimes, just sometimes if you hear it at the right moment, a piece of music can be so transcendental it just takes you away.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.