Pinny

Today we have our elder granddaughter, the five year old, visiting. Her school is closed because it is being used as a polling place. I really can't believe that some local authorities continue with this antiquated practice - and this year particularly. There's been so many days of teaching lost that to close an entire school seems negligent.

I do urge people to vote of course. I had a postal vote this time. My wish is that Scotland should be well governed with a trustworthy government and an effective opposition. We'll see.

Here's the five year old making cakes for afternoon tea. The pinny was mine. I expect my grandmother made it for me. It's carefully made and I'm sure it carried lots of hopes for me. I've kept it all these years and I've looked forward to it being worn again.

Words fail me as far as the cold, wet weather is concerned. It's a day for indoor play. And afternoon tea.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.