Museum of Darning Thread

When the five year old was here yesterday there were lots of games involving household objects. A 'laboratory for science' was set up using the contents of my sewing box. I keep some things in Cameraman's late grandfather's tobacco tins. One tin hadn't been opened for decades and when I prised off the lid this is what I found. Ancient darning thread which I think was probably my grandmother's. I do know how to darn, and I have darned socks and hosiery in my life, but I don't think I've ever used such fine thread. Or possessed such fine hosiery. The Germolene adverts are paper needle cases - no needles left. Delightful treasure but not everyday items.

A work meeting has taken up a good bit of the morning. I'm now off, dodging the heavy showers, to collect the car which has been nursed through some malfunction to the tune of over £400. Ouch. Just as well I've got some work on the go.

The weekend looks wet again so I don't think many outdoor activities are on the agenda. Wishing you a good one whatever.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.