Dentist and Daphne

Starting with the picture, Daphne Mezereum. These plants grow just outside our garden on the north and south sides. They all originate with one plant, thrown into the forest by our neighbour, many years ago. He threw it away because his daughter had given birth to his first grandchild, and he knew this plant was deadly poisonous. He needn't have worried because the berry apparently tastes revolting and no child would eat it. There is no record of anyone dying from eating this plant!
Anyway, he dug the plant up, threw it into the forest at the end of his garden and forgot about it. But Daphne is a tough plant and it sank its roots into the earth and grew. It produced berries which birds ate and spread in the usual way, and by the time we noticed it, it had spread along 50 metres of forest edge. Then it suddenly appeared in a garden rubbish heap of the edge of our parking spot. This is the example I'm photographing here.
It's not an invader like Himalayan Balsam for example.  If we wanted to eradicate it we could, fairly easily. But I love a plant that more than holds its own in the wild rough and tumble, and looks beautiful, and provides food to insects before most other plants have got going. (We are still waiting for our first daffodil to appear!)
The dentist was mentioned in my title. I got up at 5:50 this morning so I could be in the dentist's chair soon after 7:00, where I sat for 40 minutes or so. The tough work was done a week ago, so this was fitting the new crown and repairing a rather minor filling. As an added extra there was a trainee dental nurse taking part so I learned a huge amount about crowns, different types of glue, the absolute necessity of removing any excess glue, and that my dentist was something of a star, operating on patients other dentists had sent to the hospital. All this was rather reassuring as he is "just" my routine dentist.
He may be an excellent dentist but I was fairly exhausted when I got home and spent a fairly quiet few hours, including an hour asleep, before getting out into the garden.
In fact I was so tired I prepared this whole blip, picture and text, and then forgot to post it. So this is appearing a day late, as a backblip, and today's blip is one more click away.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.