An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Christmas Day in May...

Backblipped 9.05.21

The third Christmas (and birthday)  get together since restrictions relaxed and well overdue as not seen this pair for 10 months!!!  Unbelievable.

But before I get to that....look who I met!  In the potato skin flesh!  Markie!  If you don't know who / what the heck I'm talking about, Markie's story STARTS HERE! 

Markie is a legend and is going to become an even bigger legend (as well as chips, mash and roasties :-)) and if you don't already follow him on LeeAnne's blip journal or Insta, you should.  He's lots of fun and will be having many, many adventures :D. 

But back to Christmas Day in May.

The weather forecast was torrential rain so the Gin Palace was a no go for me, as by the time I'd make it to the house and back for loo purposes, I'd be soaked (stop sniggering!  I mean from the rain!!!). It's not that the distance is great, it's that I am slow!  lol  

Anyhoo, Plan B was put in place and David, the sweetheart that he is, got the gazebo up in the side garden (secured at each corner by the 4 granite slabs from the garden umbrella!  Genuis!)  He even acted as champagne waiter, and managed to get the wee Christmas tree in the window so we could see it from the gazebo :-)

LeeAnne and Dr T arrived just after 1pm and all I can say is as the rain absolutely tipped down, we sat in that little gazebo all afternoon, eating, drinking (no alcohol for Leeanne, she was driving but Dr was chauffeured  here and home by her lovely OH) and laughing so much that our sides were sore.  

Sitting there with with our Sherpa fleece blankets and hot water bottles, it may well have been a glimpse of our future in the care home!  Every so often the rain would run off the roof of the gazebo and hit the ground with a massive splash making us laugh like 5 year olds whilst claiming "it wisnae me!"  That said, the water leaks always seem to come from LeeAnne's direction.....hahahahahaha!  Summary pics in extras.

Exchange of Christmas and birthday gifts and we all did very well indeed!  Such thoughtful friends!  

All too soon it was time to say goodbye.  Dr T left first as her chauffeur arrived.  She was only gone a few minutes when D remembered I'd made white choc and cranberry fudge and they were supposed to take some home!  LeeAnne got her ration :-))

Thank you ladies for a most excellent and memorable afternoon, and my wonderful, wonderful gifts.  I am so thankful for you both....and still laughing!  :-)))))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.