An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Harris is my happy place...

Backblip

The original Harris Gin bottle is a thing of beauty and as well as having one (empty ;-) stuffed full of fairy lights in the Gin Palace, I also have a vase and candle holders made from the bottles that we bought from The Hebridean Design Company when we were here in 2019.

When they announced the launch of the Harris Cèilidh Bottle in August 2020, I knew I had to have one but wanted to buy one in person from the distillery rather than online (they always seem to be out of stock online as they are handmade by ceramicist Rupert Blamire, husband of one of my favourite artists Hope Blamire, so I don't think they ever have enough to meet the online demand)

LYesterday on our way to the south Harris beaches we stopped at the distillery in Tarbert and purchased a bottle, and part one of my Cèilidh bottle dream came true.

Part 2 of my Cèilidh bottle dream was to photograph it on the island and Tah Dah!  Mission accomplished!

As we sat eating lunch looking at this incredible view the skies turned moody and the mountain and sea took on the shades of the bottle and I knew the time was right :-))  I would love to photograph it again in different surroundings but if I don't get the chance I will be happy enough with these two shots (other in extras)

Tomorrow's forecast is heavy rain and strong winds so we had earmarked that as a lazy day but after lunch we lazed about watching tennis, reading our books, planning trips, drinking coffee and eating more of the amazing homemaking we picked up yesterday at the Cake Shed. 

In the blink of an eye it was 5pm so all thoughts of travelling anywhere were abandoned in favour of a G&T and that view.

They are going to have to prize me away from this place on Friday!

Yesterday the sun shone :-)))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.