Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Gifted

I was gifted this shot in the reserve this morning.  I didn't think there was the smallest chance of seeing her on her nest, particularly as everything's leafing up so well, but I now realise sparrow hawks make almost flat nests so she's sitting up well above it.

The press pack's gone, but I did meet one birder who'd come over to Winchester to see this pair for the first time.  Between us we found a single tiny visual gap through to the nest.  My companion was knowledgeable and being very careful not to get too close, so I felt quite happy we weren't disturbing the parent birds.

And yes, wouldn't it be nice if there'd been less in the way of branches, but to be honest I'm just happy they have chosen their home site so carefully.

Also in the reserve a pair of swans have had 9 cygnets.  But they're for another day ;))

Hope your week's begun well  xx

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.