Grandad's Car

Well today has to be one of the all time highlights of our trip to the West.  Mauzee and I met up with my cousin Meg and her husband Steve out at Scarborough Beach and they very kindly brought Gracie with them.  Gracie is a 1949 Morris Minor and belonged to my Nanna and Grandad.  I have such fond memories of this magnificent machine.  When Grandad died, the car passed to Meg who has lovingly looked after it for over 50 years.  It's been even longer than that since I've had a drive in Gracie and it was such a thrill this morning to be taken for a "Burn" in it along Scarborough beach road, topping 70kmh an hour and turning lots of heads along the way.  Steve is a vintage and classic car guru and was able to give us so much fascinating information about this particular model.  I have added a collage as well as an image of Meg and I.

I was telling Meg this morning that I have such vivid memories of Nanna and Grandad driving us up to the Swan River to Houghtons Winery and Grandad would buy a flagon of sherry.  Crikey, fancy remembering that!!  I can also vividly remember Grandad taking off from our home in Essex Street.  He would have to drive up a small hill to the top of the street and I don't think he ever got out of first gear the whole way to the top.  The little grey Morris Minor used to sound like a 727 aircraft taking off.  I'm sure the neighbours all used to have a laugh, they certainly knew when Nanna and Grandad were visiting us.  It meant so much to me to meet up with Meg and Steve today and it's a memory I will cherish.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.