A Day In The Life

By Irish59

Ruby Wednesday

Some of you may recall I saw a hummingbird less than a week ago hovering near our front door and it had been our only sighting until today • We had just returned from grocery shopping and while unloading bags I kept walking to the door to look outside. I was distracted by both the dark clouds gathering overhead and by what birds were at the feeders, especially any new ones. MrsP would tell you I’m obsessed ;) Can you say oriole? • But thanks to my obsession I noticed something small whiz by the door, then hover over the recently in-bloom creeping phlox. They’re so colorful right now. It then flitted around the nearby grape hyacinths, a jonquil, then up into a lilac tree • It was a male ruby-throated hummingbird! I know he’s a male because he flashed his red gorget at me :) No shame. This is him at-rest before he launched himself over to the neighbor’s jonquils across the street. Soon, the female should make her grand appearance, and if all goes well, we’ll all enjoy the summer together. The more, the merrier :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.