Watch

Izzy, the Minx, and I had to distribute ourselves around the house, this morning, as we all had work meetings. Thankfully, the broadband - which is not infallible in this part of the world - held up.

At lunchtime I drove Izzy back down to the flat she's been renting in Manchester so she could finish packing and cleaning before she sets off on her latest adventure, tomorrow. I'm not mad keen on goodbyes - who actually is?! - so we had a quick hug and then I headed back to Salford.

The MInx has generously bought us each a new Apple Watch, so later on I walked across to the Arndale Centre to pick them up. I don't think I'd worn a watch since leaving school when she bought us our first ones maybe three or four years ago and at the time I wasn't really sure about starting again.

But now I wouldn't live without it. I won't list all the ways in which it's made improvements to my life of varying significance and I must say that, unlike other Apple products, our original watches didn't seem to have any built in obsolescence, so I wasn't even convinced we needed replacements.

Guys, they're beautiful.

Today's photo was taken from a bridge over The Irwell, looking back towards Spinningfields. Imagine how different this would have looked a hundred years ago!

****
Reading: 'Touching The Void' by Joe Simpson

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.