carliewired

By carliewired

Yesterday and This Morning

One glorious end
to this week - my birthday and
breakfast in the hills

~ carliewired

Top four photos: Yesterday, on my birthday, my daughter feted me with her marvelous English cream tea. She makes the most scrumptious scones. She produces her own Devon cream. She also added in her wonderful fireweed jelly. I brought the strawberries. It was fabulous! When I arrived at her house I took a photo of her purple iris in full bloom. (Mine are barely showing buds) Three does were hunkered down in her backyard. It all made for a lovely birthday tea. 

This morning I was out the door at 6:30 with my camera. The sun was bright and the sky was blue. I picked up breakfast at the drive-thru and continued on to Mt. Lolo Road east of my house. It is a bit of a climb out of the city. I stopped beside a pond where I've painted with friends. It is a great place to watch the birds and enjoy the peace and quiet of the countryside. I spotted a juvenile eagle perched on a birdhouse across the road from the pond. It was watching the pond intently. Around the pond, horses and cattle were grazing contentedly. There were lots of calves and foals.

I headed back down towards the city. Just half a mile from my house, an older car had pulled off to the right and I watched as the front tire tipped off the axle and plopped down on the road. The occupants of the car jumped out looking somewhat dazed and confused about this event. I stopped in my lane having some concern for these people's safety. This route is well travelled and those coming off the Halston Bridge are usually speeding. I watched my mirrors to see the traffic move over behind me and around me. The young fellow picked up the tire and noted that the car was now resting on the front axle. The woman pulled out her cell phone so I knew they had it in hand. They closed their doors and stepped off the road away from the traffic. I drove off believing they were all right. Ahead of them, on the side of the road, another fellow was watching all this. As I drove past him, he was laughing and shaking his head. So, that was my surprise for the day! 

It's 9 AM and already 19 C. It's going to be a warm one today. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.