Sunday

It didn't rain quite so much as yesterday,  though it did rain on and off including when I went for my walk this afternoon.  Luckily I was more prepared today with a raincoat and umbrella. 

On return from my walk I went into the soggy garden to get a flower pic.  We have a few large bunches of forget-me-nots in the garden but this plant was on its own under the lilac tree.

Apparently the flower's name was popularised by the poet Samuel Coleridge in his poem The Keepsake published in 1802.  It is from a German folk tale, Vergissmeinnicht.  Prior it was known as mouse's ear or scorpion grass after its curling flower stems.
from Every Day Nature - Andy Beer

Nor can I find, amid my lonely walk
By rivulet, or spring, or wet road-side,
That blue and bright-eyed floweret of the brook,
Hope's gentle gem, the sweet Forget-me-not!
from The Keepsake - Samuel Taylor Coleridge

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.