An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Birthday greetings...

for my Auntie Maisie who turns 83 today.   

I phoned her last year on her birthday (she lives in Kent) and had a hilarious conversation as she's very deaf.  Her hearing is even worse now so I opted to write instead.  Unfortunately I'm only half way through the letter (but I sent her card :-) as I wanted to include this photograph of her (on the left) my mum (in the middle) and their friend Jean (on the right) and I wasn't able to print it until today as we needed ink for the printer and it arrived late yesterday afternoon.

Good pal Pixel8 put a shout out a couple of weeks ago asking for old black and white photos to use as practice to increase his skills of converting to colour.  I have loads of old family photos so sent him a few.  This was one of the first ones he sent back (others shall be blipped in the next few days as today marks the start of three very important birthdays this month) and I was completely unprepared for the emotional impact of seeing those old black and white shots in colour.   Very damp eyes.  

I will send copies of all the photos to my Auntie Maisie and I know she will be just as moved as I am.  Thank you B for breathing such wonderful life into old, mono photos.  I have a few more to send to you :-)))

Third week of my RPS photoshop course with Celia Henderson and today the main focus was working with layers.  I have tried to master layers so many times and failed, but Celia is so good at explaining things, I now feel confident that I am well on my way to understanding what I am doing.

The day ran away with me again so we ended up having a late dinner then watched episode 2 of The Pact.  It's a bit slow and with glaring plot holes but other than that I am enjoying it.  I will stick with it I think.  

* original photo in extras

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.