secret garden

By freespiral

Taking a line for a walk

It's cold - we've had brilliant sunshine, snowy whiteouts, icy winds and sometimes all at once! It was below freezing when I left this morning and a ferocious easterly blowing. I was astonished, yet full of respect, to see two winkle pickers battling against the elements down at the shoreline. And a bit later on, two more people were digging things up - worms I suppose.

This afternoon I took my crew down to the river to carry on on with our study. A quick look at the weather and a check that the tide wasn't too far in and we proceeded - metre sticks, string, stop watches, lolly sticks and containers ready. Plus clipboards - essential pieces of eqipment. Wellies, coats and hats were worn as we slid down the banks and proceeded to do the business. The water was extraordinarily clear, 6C and flowing at a rate of 1 metre per second, should you be interested! I then introduced them to the game of pooh sticks - the excitement was mighty. You chuck in a specially decorated lolly stick (biodegradeable of course) from one side of the bridge, rush to the other side of the bridge to see who's comes out first. As played by Winnie the Pooh himself. It then started snowing so the afternoon was complete!
Today's blip is of water under some branches - I liked the oiliness. It also reminded me of taking a line for a walk - you just let your pencil roam freely across the page, curling and whirling as you go. Paul Klee's idea I believe.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.