Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Sunrise at Brancaster Staithe

Last night we had the most incredible sunset - it was a deep red sunset that just kept on giving, at 10.30pm last night there was still a red glow on the horizon. I missed photographing it as I was out at dinner with the family, so to make up for that I got up at the punishing hour of 4.15am this morning to photograph the sunrise.

This time I went to Brancaster Staithe, which is a few minutes along the coast from where we are staying - and the sunrise was spectacular, more fiery and rich in colour than the one the other morning. I have added an extra of the sky just before the sun rose. 

Gavin had kindly come with me, so once the sun rose we moved on to Thornham as I wanted to photograph the coal barn at the old harbour - apparently it is one of the most photographed barns in England! Unfortunately the road to the old harbour was closed so we had to park up in the village and walk down to the old harbour. I have added an extra of the coal barn.

By the time we got home for breakfast it had clouded over and was grey, dull and rather windy. However we decided to walk from Holkham beach to Wells-next-the-sea (as recommended by blipper Martindawe) which was a good recommendation - an easy walk along the beach and then the return walk was through a forest. There was a large film crew at Wells on the beach busy filming, and in the adjoining car park they had a a large setup up of mobile homes and eating areas for the actors and crew - I wish I knew what they were filming!

We drove down the coast, picking up a crab sandwich and coffee from Wells Deli, and then stopped off at all the small coastal villages - Stiffkey, Morston, and finally Blakeney before heading back to the house. By now it was raining so we spent the afternoon at the house.

As soon as Luke finished his college at 5pm he and Meriel left to go back home (as he cannot travel during the day when he is attending virtual college) It was sad to see them go but they will be at home when we get there tomorrow, as tonight is our last night here.

It has been a wonderful few days in Norfolk - we have totally fallen in love with Norfolk and will be back! I planned to photograph some wildlife but unfortunately I only saw one hare crashing through the undergrowth and missed getting a photo - we also saw a few muntjacs but they were too far away. I will have to learn to take decent photos of birds as the birdlife here is second to none.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.