Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Poppies

After a very dry spring, we had a rainy morning. As Xena hates walking in the rain I decided to work on a photography project before taking her out, in the hope that the rain would stop. The project was the 'homework; required for our camera group run by the teacher at the boys old school, and this month the challenge was to photograph glass without getting any reflections. It is surprisingly very difficult to do, the secret is to get the glass object backlit - however I eventually had to go into a room and close all the curtains to avoid any reflections from the windows. It was a bit frustrating and it's not really my kind of photography, so I was getting a bit annoyed with it. The result is in the extras.

I needed a walk after that but it was still raining so we had a wet walk and Xena got all muddy. By lunchtime it had stopped raining and the afternoon was sunny.

I took some photos of my ornamental poppies in the garden after the rain stopped, you can see that the rain has knocked the pollen all over the petals.

I also continued working on my new website. It will take ages to do and I am keeping it simple - as although the website host (Squarespace) has so many amazing features - I don't really know how they work so it will be a very ordinary website when it is finished.

Thank goodness it is Friday night - Gavin has had a tough week and needs to relax. I am now off to cook supper and to enjoy my Friday night glass of prosecco.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.