carliewired

By carliewired

In Flood

Where the river meets
the lake, water rises with
the warm spring run-off

~ carliewired

After a very warm weekend the river has risen considerably and much debris is coming down the North Thompson River. This flows into  Kamloops Lake. Annually, the delta fills up with fields flooding. It is a delight to all the waterfowl as it expands all their territory, if only temporarily. 

I thought I would drive up to the spot overlooking the delta. My first surprise was a view onto the airport runway where a fire crew was dealing with a small private plane. I will have to find out what happened.

 I was glad I'd taken my truck because the road was washboard and very rough. ( My little red bomber would not have been happy with that.) We have a beautiful day so the drive was worth it. 

I drove back down to have a closer look at the flooding. It is always interesting to see the tops of the fence posts sticking out of the water. The water fowl has no problem moving around them. 

A small car had been left on the road with its emergency lights flashing. I could see the reason when I noted the missing back wheel. 

I walked around an area below the Canadian National Railway line to get a closer look at the flooding fields. One has to be careful where one steps as we do have small prickly pear cactus. I nearly stepped into a bunch of it while intent on photos. That was my second surprise. 

On the way home I got caught at the railway crossing as a very long freight train was heading into the city. My third surprise was finding this young man with his skateboard also waiting to cross the tracks. He was quite a distance from 'civilization' at this point.  

We are going for 22 C today with a promise of even warmer weather coming for the weekend. 

UPDATE: This small Cessna crashed upon landing. Failure of the landing gear left the plane tipped over on one wing spilling fuel. Pilot is in stable condition. This happened about 9 AM. The runway was tied up while being cleared until 2 PM. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.