Checking In at Riverside

It's the start of a
holiday weekend so I
see traffic increase

~ carliewired

I woke up hungry before 4 AM. I was standing in my kitchen stirring the porridge at 5 AM when I caught that rosy glow in the sky. I got out there on my deck before it was gone. At 6 I decided a camera romp was all too premature and headed back to bed for more sleep. 

At 9:30 I went looking for a second breakfast and a survey of Riverside Park to gauge the progress on the renovations there. 

I parked by the railway bridge and looked over into the Thompson River and along the park's edge. There's not much left of rivershore now that the water level is coming up. I took note of the pillars that mark the water levels of the past. I do remember 1999 as my house then was close to the river. I could see out my kitchen window over the top of the dyke and watch trees floating down the river. With this cold spring and a generous snowload from winter, I'm getting a bit anxious about flooding this year. 

I watched some Canada geese perform on the railway bridge and the river. One variety of dogwood is in bloom by the bridge.  I looked at the east entrance to the park where there was little activity on the construction site this morning. 

I drove around to the west side of the park and left my car by the tennis courts. The Uji Garden is still behind a construction fence. There's much to do there. I left the last of my 5 quilted hearts for the week there. A city worker was cleaning (and polishing?) the remaining tennis court. The pickleball players were present in great numbers this morning. The parking lot was almost full. 

I got a shot of the lovely pink dogwood beside my house before closing up the garage. 

I'm home for the day. It's clearing and brightening. I'm cleaning and vacuuming. 

The forecast is for a high of 16 C with a chance of showers and a risk of a thunderstorm by the end of the day. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.