My Aunt Eloise - Saying Goodbye

I found out this afternoon that my dear Aunt Eloise, aged 102, had just passed away. I last saw my Aunt and Uncle in January last year when I made a visit to Michigan. That brief visit is very precious to me as we have lost them both this last year. My uncle passed away in December which I wrote about here.

Eloise was quite a lady and she loved to describe herself as a ‘tough old bird’! So tough that she outlived three husbands! Her first husband passed away after 46 years of marriage. She married again just a few years later and was widowed a second time after 7 years of marriage. Not long before that my uncle Dick had also been widowed. His first wife, my aunt Marion, had been best friends with Eloise over many years, so it was a precious day when Dick and Eloise married. They have had a long and happy 23 years together, caring for each other as the years progressed.

The collage is a collection of some of my favourite photos of Eloise. The bottom left and bottom middle were taken on the occasion of her 100th birthday!

I visited many times through the years and have always enjoyed the company of this warm and generous woman. Eloise richly blessed those around her and was well known in the community for her tireless volunteerism. She was given many awards and accolades through the years and featured more than once in the local press (here and here). I know my uncle was very proud to be married to her and I was honoured to have her as my aunt. Eloise will be missed by so many, especially by her large family.

Well done, good and faithful servant!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.