Stormy

Aberdeen city planning department must be applauded for having authorised buildings that have managed to make the Beach Boulevard area unbelievably unattractive. The building in the foreground here is not by far the worst example, further along is a building which used to be a night venue (now the Range), and which presents a stark brick wall to the beach front. A complete waste of what should be a prime beach front location.

Today the architecture played only a small part in the dismal scene, the weather was the prime factor. Strong wind and heavy rain kept almost everybody away. Even the dog walkers were absent. I ventured out for a couple of shots in the Boulevard area. I had a rain hat but could not use it as the wind was too strong.

I could only take photographs looking towards the south and sheltering the camera as otherwise the rain would have soaked the lens in a second. I tried to take more pictures closer to Fittie, but attempting to open the car door against the wind was enough to tell me it was not a good idea.

The extra shows the sea battering the sea wall. I presume the colour of the water is due to it having collected a lot of sand. The weather was worse than it appears in the photographs, there was a misty haze which is partially lost in in the processed images.

When I got back to my apartment building I found somebody with a dog in the underfloor car park. That is strange as we are not allowed to have pets according to the condominium rules.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.