An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Happy Birthday Gran...

Today you would have been 103 years old.  

I couldn't resist blipping this photo of you and grandpa that our pal B has colourised for me, even though I blipped the mono version in 2013.  As with the other photos he has kindly colourised for me, I caught my breath when I saw this one of you both in colour.  It brings you both to life.  So young with your lives ahead of you.  It would be a good few years after this photo was taken before I made an appearance :-)

You have had such a strong influence on my life.  I learned my love of baking from you, and we spent many happy hours in your kitchen with you guiding me as I helped you make scones of all type - plain, fruit, treacle to name a few, Victoria sponges, orange sponges, coconut cakes and clootie dumplings.  And I always got to lick the bowl and spoon!  :-)

Your sense of humour and love of mischief are legendary and your inner child was never far from the surface, ever ready to break through and have fun.  I am delighted that you passed that very trait to me.  

You are missed every single day but I feel your presence constantly. 


We were up and off to the health centre for our second vaccinations today. Alan was in full on charm mode with everyone one saw, even complete strangers in the waiting area.  He is hard to ignore when he turns his mega watt smile full beam at you!  

We were done as a job lot again.  Me first, and Alan actually laughed as the needle went in my arm!  Cheeky! Him next then D and in a blink we were back out into the sunshine.  A welcome sight after yesterday's heavy rain!  

We deliberately have nothing planned this weekend just incase we feel rough like we did after our first vaccination, but so far so good.  We all feel absolutely fine.  Arm isn't even sore this time, which is great because it was agony for about three weeks the last time.

After further discussion about yesterday's big adventure I have decided that a power chair is the way forward.  I told Alan and said we could have races.  He thought this was a hilarious idea!  lol

Just finished watching Eurovision.  I feel so sorry for James Newman.  I love his song and he definitely did not deserve getting zero points.   I think we have to accept that's about as well as we're going to do in this competition for the foreseeable.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.